Confirmation of John Roberts

The Senate is voting on John Roberts right now. You watch it on C-SPAN. Prior to the vote there were 77 confirmed votes for Roberts, 21 against and two undecided.
The vote tally will be posted as soon as the voting is complete.
– Senator Daniel Akaka (D-HI) was previously undecided, but voted against Roberts.
– Senator John Rockefeller (D-WV), the other undecided, voted for Roberts.
John Roberts has been confirmed by the Senate as the 17th Chief Justice of the United States by a vote of 78 to 22.
It’s interesting to note that the Democrats were evenly split, 22 to 22, on the confirmation of John Roberts. All 55 Republican Senators, obviously, supported Roberts, as well a Jim Jeffords, the lone independent in the Senate.
Roberts will be sworn in today at 3pm.